The final was played between “Sandbach Park C” and “Biddulph Bowling Club A” at Clough Hall Club on Thursday 28th September.  It was nice to see that two clubs from the Vets Division C had fought their way through to the final, possibly aided by the slightly increased handicap allowances this year.  The spectators were treated to a fine display of bowling from both teams and it was a close match all the way through, with Sandbach Park “C” just gaining a 5 point advantage after the first four games.  Biddulph Bowling Club “A” fought back extremely well in the second half of the match to produce a nail-biting final game on the green between Chris Furness (Sandbach) and Malcolm Carruthers (Biddulph).  The game went to 20 across and the maths showed that whoever won the last end would win the match for their team!!  Luckily for Sandbach Chris had the block and produced a fine lead with his first bowl and Malcolm could not match it.  Consequently Sandbach Park “C” won the match by 210 points to 209 points.
The photograph below shows Paul Charlesworth (League Chairman) presenting the trophy to the captain of Sandbach Park “C”, Keith Pointon, and the rest of the team.

From Left to Right: Allan Jodrill, Tony Liberti, Roland Cannon, Ian Clark, Jim Carter, Paul Charlesworth), Peter Thompson, Keith Pointon, Paul Rowbottom, Glenys Fitzpatrick, Jan Pointon, Chris Furness, Jean Thompson.